Author Topic: Current Limits  (Read 4007 times)

Offline Dryer

• Confirmed
Current Limits
« on: March 08, 2019, 02:04:03 PM »
New here.  Wow, what a forum!  I've been messing with electric scooters/bikes for a couple of years before moving up to something programmable, which has opened up a whole new world.   My question is about current limits if anyone can share some insight. 

I'm running a:
1500 watt motor, chain drive
Controller is an external BLDC (bac-0501) 48vdc / 2000 watt controller (Magic Pie)
48vdc lithium battery

When I first connected to the controller with software, I was astounded to learn the default settings were left in place....24 volts, 90 amps average, 180 amps max!  The scooter was so frisky it was almost unrideable.  I set the voltage to 48, first thing. 
Ohms Law tells me a 1500 watt motor at 48v wants to see 31.5 amps.  I changed the average current to 30 and the scooter ran well, but sluggishly.  Dialed it up to 50 average with 80 max, pulled the acceleration back to 75%, and now everything is perfect.   No heat build up in the motor or controller, but then there was none at the higher settings either....which is puzzling.   
I'm trying to understand current settings, and surprised the original settings didn't fry something. 
What are some amperage guidelines here? 

Paul, Texas

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Current Limits
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2019, 06:43:18 PM »
Hi Paul andto the forum.

I don't have any practical experience with the BAC-0501 controller, but the description states 50A continuous and 100A max.

I can only assume that the original "90 amps average, 180 amps max" setting relate to the Phase current instead of the Battery current.
Do you have a Cycle Analyst or wattmeter to check how many Amps are actually being drawn from your battery?

If your battery has a BMS, the maximum current it will deliver is unlikely to be anywhere near as high as 90A never mind 180A.  :o