Author Topic: Neven's 700c commuter conversion - Magic Pie Edge  (Read 3120 times)

Offline Neven

• Confirmed
Neven's 700c commuter conversion - Magic Pie Edge
« on: April 06, 2018, 04:16:19 AM »
Hello all.

So I am a beginner cyclist, been at it only for around 6 months after an almost 20 year hiatus due to equilibrium issues.  Because I wasn't sure if i'd be able to keep up with riding, I bought a dirt cheap bike off amazon, the Giordano rs700.  Well even after a snowy winter by Vancouver standards, I made it through with only 1 broken rib and am loving the freedom cycling gives.

I originally started cycling to cut down on the lost time between bus connections,  one issue was when I worked afternoon shifts, i'd get off work at 11 pm and i'd be stuck carrying a large bike unto a shuttle bus for the journey up to my house on a mountain.  So I figured it was time to give electric a chance.

due to my size, many complete bikes wont work for that climb, so I explored conversion kits as an option.  I decided on the Magic Pie edge as the kit of choice, it seemed to be the most powerful legal option available.  So I put in an order to Gary, and an order for a 10AH 52V Panasonic GA cell battery (NCR chemistry) from lunacycle.  They both arrived fairly quickly and within a day of eachother, plus on my first day of my 3 day weekend, so a perfect scenario to do the conversion.

So I took off my rear wheel, removed its tire (bontrager h5 hardcase with a tough strip) and installed it on the new tire.  Thankfully it went on easy.

My next step was to install the freewheel.  I had a pretty new one on my old tire, as I snapped an axle in february and the old one was worn to crap, but I did not want to buy the removal tool for it.
 So I picked a new one up and installed it.