Author Topic: Low voltage cutoff?  (Read 5051 times)

Offline tim...nz

• Confirmed
Low voltage cutoff?
« on: July 31, 2011, 05:22:13 AM »
Hi all, newbie here setting up a 48v 1000w MP with a 48v 10aH Ping battery.

I expect my issue is caused by the low voltage cutoff - when the charger is plugged in, the motor will run, but when the charger is off, nothing happens - no lights on the throttle or anything. Do I need to change some of the controller settings through the usb interface or should they be ok from the factory, and a low battery is causing my problem?

Last time we checked it the battery voltage was 41v, will check again later when my flatmate (guardian of the multimeter) gets home. Cheers

Offline JS

• Confirmed
Re: Low voltage cutoff?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 07:06:13 AM »
When I was building my bike I tried it with different voltages. 12V did nothing, but with 24V it operated normally.

When you connect the battery, there should be a reasonably big spark, whining noise from the pie and lights on the throttle. You get none of those?

Sounds like a defective battery to me, or BMS sees a problem and cuts it off. 48V battery should be around 50-52V.

Try it without connecting any of the wires except power and throttle.

Offline GM Canada

• Super Gary
  • Confirmed
  • PhD. Magic
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 11:14:42 AM »
Hi all, newbie here setting up a 48v 1000w MP with a 48v 10aH Ping battery.

I expect my issue is caused by the low voltage cutoff - when the charger is plugged in, the motor will run, but when the charger is off, nothing happens - no lights on the throttle or anything. Do I need to change some of the controller settings through the usb interface or should they be ok from the factory, and a low battery is causing my problem?

Last time we checked it the battery voltage was 41v, will check again later when my flatmate (guardian of the multimeter) gets home. Cheers