Author Topic: Newbie here from Germany expecting trouble  (Read 4804 times)

Offline AllgaeuAndi

• Confirmed
Newbie here from Germany expecting trouble
« on: April 26, 2018, 06:37:45 PM »
Hello everyone,

new here and in the world of ebikes. I do have the Magic Pie 5 fat wheel conversion in my self made aluminium cruiser and discovering an issue.

During mockup, stupid me, damaged the outside insulation of the main motor cable, which is coming out of the wheel.

After trying the bike for a few times without any problems, I thought lucky me, everything works as it should.
On Sunday things got worse. After a 25km trip, my charging plug from the 48V/30Ah battery pack was coming loose and got stuck between frame and motor cable, right where the insulation was already damaged by me, when welding on the frame.

At home I figured out, that the tiny red and white cable were completely cut ripped. So I soldered it all together and thought being ready for another spin.

But nothing happened at all. The three lights on the twist throttle light up(the green, the yellow, the red), but the motor does not turn.
Is it possible, that the two stripped/ ripped cable where causing a short or something and destroyed the controller?

Sorry for all of the mistakes, no native english speaker...;-)

I hope someone can help me on this topic, since I just started this whole bike hobby thing and not much off an electrician, more mechanic/welder;-)

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Newbie here from Germany expecting trouble
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 10:36:39 AM »
Hi andto the forum.

I am confused as to what the "tiny red and white cable" is connected to, is it part of your battery's charging plug?

Below is the connector details for the Magic Pie 5, which should help you to figure out if the correct voltages are present at the correct pins.