Author Topic: Is the 500w motor and 36 volt LifePo4 Realiable enough for a daily commute?  (Read 14176 times)

kazbluesky

Hi everyone, I've been lookingat this forum for a while now.  I want to use my bike for a daily commute to work (about 15kms) but there are a number of hills or gradients that make it just too tough so I'm thinking of adding an electric motor.  My problem is this:  I'm no electrician. I want to buy a product and just have it work - I don't want to have to constantly fart about with it to keep it working.  Could you give me your opinion as to whether if I buy the 36volt 500w motor and the lifepo4 36v 10ah it will last me a few years? 

In total with shipping it's going to cost me around 900 dollars - so I want it to work and be reliable.

What is your honest opinion - worth it or not ?

Thanks in advance,

Ian

Offline biohazardman

• Confirmed
  • Bachelor of Magic
  The GM kit is good for the more gradual hills.  I have ridden up a few short but steep hills that I would normally not ride up without the motor but for a long steep hill I think something with more torque would be needed unless you are in good physical shape. The 48 volt kit might be a bit better.  The cost factor makes these pretty appealing but the kits are not as complete as it looks.  The rim needs to be replaced immediately the axle nuts too and you will need a torque arm. Still from all I have read the geared are way better on the hills although lacking in top end.  You can over volt most anything and it will help as long as it does not overheat. I have both but the geared is waiting for batteries.  Hopefully someone with both running will offer some of their thoughts on the subject.

Offline Draggin

• Confirmed
  • Magic Undergrad