Author Topic: BT problems- MP Edge has 48-52v going to the Bluetooth dongle?  (Read 3930 times)

Offline Slackerman

• Confirmed
Hey folks.

New to the forums.
Having an interesting problem with my brand new Magic Pie Edge rear 700c motor that I got about 4 weeks ago and it was suggested I seek some input from the forums.

First, the set-up.
Bike is running a brand new Magic Pie Edge 700c rear hub with an 8-speed freewheel.
I have two 7s5p Lion 18650 packs I built myself. (fyi. I work as a battery technician rebuilding tool batteries and the like) currently hooked into series for a 52v 10ah pack

The Problem
The Bluetooth doesn't work right, on power up the Bluetooth Dongle lights up solid blue for about half a second the immediately starts to flash/strobe like crazy. It has done this since I first turned it on about 4 weeks ago (the rest of the system worked great!) I kind of gave up on it because the first google responses showed me version problems with android, not a rapidly blinking dongle. so I used the bike anyways with the throttle instead of pedal assist.

After I submitted my support ticket I got the idea from Gary to test the voltage going to the plug. every pin was reading somewhere between 48-52v, the full voltage of the battery pack. No pins look bent an the cable looks to be fine...
I would guess that BT, like usb should be around 5ish volts.

Is there any thoughts what could be going on? all help is much appreciated. 

UPDATE: I have now lost all throttle response and the motor is non operational.

Thank you,
Slackerman

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: BT problems- MP Edge has 48-52v going to the Bluetooth dongle?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2018, 11:56:33 PM »
Hi andto the forum.

On the lower left hand side of the following diagram, you can see the pin allocations for the five pin connector on the Motor harness that is used for the Bluetooth, USB and the Smart LCD Display: