Author Topic: New member with some Magic Pie questions  (Read 6854 times)

Offline blompod

• Confirmed
New member with some Magic Pie questions
« on: December 30, 2011, 10:29:02 AM »
Hi all I’m new here and looking for some advice, I want to put together an ebike using the Magic Pie 3, I figure if it’s being released to the public soon I should wait and get the 3. Its going to be my only transport for the next 4 years, so I want to get it in the 1000w configuration using the 48v battery. The bike I want to fit it to is an Electra Ticino 8D and make it a front hub, which brings me to my first question, what’s the pros and cons to front and rear hub drives. Now I’m not a total noob as I have a 500w front hub bike now and it’s great, only drawback I have found being front hub is in the wet going up hills or if I’m on the throttle and peddling hard the front wheel can spin, lose traction a bit which is a tad scary, losing the front end on any two wheeler, but as I said it was only in the wet sometimes. I’m sure firstly whacking it on the front end is a whole lot easier than the back with all the gears etc.

I also want the best range I can get, can you run two batteries and double your range? Or do you just have a spare battery with you and swap it over if you’re going for a long ride? I have a 20ah 36v on my 500w and with me helping it a lot pedalling I get about 35kms in range. Oh also do you think it’s wise to purchase a spare controller, just to have in case the first one sh!ts its self? Pros and cons of internal and external controllers? I hope Ive done this new member post thing right. Thank you and glad to be aboard  ;D

Offline Andrew

• AKA The Artful Bodger
  • Confirmed
  • PhD. Magic
  • I'm here to learn.
Re: New member with some Magic Pie questions
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2011, 07:21:19 PM »
I would run a rear motor not just because of better traction but if you get a failure at speed and the rear motor locks up you are likley to save your face :D