Author Topic: motor cuts off  (Read 15899 times)

Offline ecgoeken

motor cuts off
« on: June 11, 2008, 07:06:31 PM »
I just finished converting my bike to an e-bike using a 36V/500W 26" rear wheel golden motor kit.  I was able to get some free sla garage door batteries.  im using 6 total.  they are 12v 4.5Ah.  I have two sets of 3 in a series and wired the two series in parallel to give me a 36V 9Ah battery.  soon after I got it running I started to encounter some problems.  I would twist the throttle and before it got fully accelorated the motor would cut off.  I would simply twist it again and it would get going again.  this problem, however, gradually starting happening on a more frequant basis.  now it does this every time I begin to accelorate.  the power meter still reads a full charge.  since I am new to this, I am not quite sure as to what is causing this loss of power.  has this been a problem for anybody else?  what can I do to fix this problem and get my ebike ready for commuting?

Offline Mel in HI

• Confirmed
Re: motor cuts off
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2008, 07:40:52 PM »
I would say low voltage cut off from accelerating too fast.  Anyone else have a suggestion?

Free garage door batteries...  Old and weak I suspect?  I am not an expert, but I suspect that the large draw is causing a voltage drop on the batteries which is causing the controller to cut out to protect the batteries.  Lack of draw allows the voltage to come back up and then work again when you twist again.

I would try not accelerating as hard. 

Offline ecgoeken

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 07:50:16 PM »