Author Topic: Fuse Size  (Read 11438 times)

Offline RobbyRob

• Confirmed
Fuse Size
« on: August 17, 2012, 11:28:33 PM »
OK so here is a drawing of my current power set up.

I am looking at wanting to place a fuse on both charging leads and one in between the batteries and the controller. Probably between the controller and first Anderson Connection. I am a newb when it comes to electrical any idea the size of fuses I will need for these?
« Last Edit: August 18, 2012, 10:21:39 AM by RobbyRob »
Thank you kindly for your knowledge,
Robert

Offline RobbyRob

• Confirmed
Re: Fuse Size
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 01:22:31 AM »
I am also having a hard time finding a simple 48v on/off key switch if anyone knows of any please do tell. Gary's have a lock on them which I do not need
« Last Edit: August 18, 2012, 10:22:01 AM by RobbyRob »
Robert

Offline Morgen 3Eman

• Confirmed
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Fuse Size and Key Switch Installation
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2012, 01:48:29 AM »
If I were doing this, I would put a fuse on the output of each battery, and one on the input to the controller.  But remember, I'm a very cautious old fool.    As for amp rating, your controller should determine that.  My MP3 internal controller only needed a 30 Amp fuse, while my external controller needs a 50 amp fuse. 

TTFN,
Dennis

Offline RobbyRob

• Confirmed
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2012, 03:29:13 AM »
After much searching I think I have found a key switch that will  do the trick. It is from a 48v Yamaha Golf Cart part number JN8-82510-02-00. I will be contacting my local Yamaha dealer to get a price for the part on Monday. I will keep you posted. If anyone sees a problem with this switch not working please let me know.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2012, 10:22:21 AM by RobbyRob »
Robert

Offline RobbyRob

• Confirmed
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2012, 10:19:11 AM »