Author Topic: Yearly Maintenance  (Read 5457 times)

Offline Jgarizona

• Confirmed
Yearly Maintenance
« on: August 26, 2010, 10:25:19 PM »
I have been running a Golden Motor Pie for about 2 years.  Have not done much other then swap out Batteries.  My current huffy is falling apart.  So I plan to move the pie to a new "craigslist" special.  Since I am pulling everything apart I figured I should take the pie apart too and do some clean up and lube.

Can someone tell me what types of service I should preform on my pie?  I want to make sure I am not 10 miles from home when my pie breaks.  I was thinking clean, lube and replace gears.  I have been looking and there is nothing listed under eMaintenance.

Pictures on the correct way to take it apart, what the insides should look like, how to put it back together and what kind of cleaner / lube to use would be a great thing to know.

Thanks,
JG
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 10:29:54 PM by jgarizona »

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Maintenance
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2010, 12:56:36 AM »
I have been running a Golden Motor Pie for about 2 years.

I was thinking clean, lube and replace gears.

HI JG andto the forum.

I'm a little puzzled as to which motor you have, because if you've had it two years it can't be a Magic Pie, as they only started selling them last October, which is only just over ten months ago.

These are GM's three main types of brushless motors which are generally used for ebike conversions:

Magic Pie                                           HBS                                     Geared Mini Motor

The Magic Pies and the HBS series are direct drive, and do not have any internal gears, therefore the only moving parts that could possibly wear, are the actual wheel/hub bearings on either side of the axle.