Author Topic: Why are there no Battery Management Systems that don't stress LiFePO4?  (Read 5024 times)

Offline StadsImker

• Confirmed
    • City Apiary in The Netherlands "Stads Imkerij"
Hello,

I am a bit an novice in electronics. Build my first electric bike, a very special one for sure. It a Transport Tricycle for quite a lot of cargo...

I follow the Magic Pie for a longtime, several years... perhaps 7 or 8 and have my own now a little longer than a year. Made my own LiFePO4 battery all by myself... and before learned a lot about what LiFePO4 cells are like.

But I don't understand the filosophy of the companies who develop BMS's at all ! Why?

If I look at a few thing like charge and discharge curves, life cycles and expexted life time of LiFePO4 systems. I think a lot can be changed and also a lot of totally BAD equipment is sold on the market.

In my opinion LiFePO4 cells are charged much to full. Why? Because charging to 3,65 volt gives a LiFePO4 cell stress and stress is NOT good at all for any battery systems. But I see this stress all over the industrie. Even at smartphones, laptop and also the ebike or EV's branches.

In my opinion a Battery pack should be balanced at 3,45 volt and not higher. Because after this voltage the stress get's bigger and bigger.... But manufactors keep building BMS which load battery pack until 3,60 volt per cell. ANd in my opinion it's plain stupid. Even more stupid than a kid you drains his battery pack completly because he loves the ride to last longer. A manufactor of a BMS can symply choose to balance a lower voltages will give his customer a much longer lifetime on it's battery-pack.

Yes, it is true that the pack is full at 3,60 or 3,65 volt. But there is so little more Amps then 3,50 volts. It will drain in a very shorttime. True your e-bike or e-car will have more power for this short time.