Author Topic: Motor cuts out  (Read 5902 times)

Offline Wtm

• Confirmed
Motor cuts out
« on: October 08, 2008, 03:00:48 AM »
I just built a bike with a 36 Volt GM 500 front wheel drive with the GM LifePO4.  The first time I used it no problems. Used for 30 minutes or so. The second time after about 10 minutes the motor started cutting out.  I charged the battery again and still have the problem. If I let it sit a few minutes it dose fine for a short time.  I am not very good at electronics and do not know what is wrong or what to do?  Please help.

Thanks

Offline Spacelander 1946

• Confirmed
    • Home Page
Re: Motor cuts out
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 04:54:23 AM »
Sounds like another dud GM battery? But check with a volt meter (from $10 @ your local Tandy Store ) should hold about 40V fully charged. Or take your battery & charger to a TV technician for testing(he will crack up with LOL). Also your controller will cut out when under heavy loads,overheats or just no more grunt left in your battery!......Do you have regen braking? many steep hills? overweighted?....please post more info. Other forum members will thread more tech info. We will get you on the road again, don't worry,OK...Cheers & good luck.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2008, 05:19:58 AM by Spacelander 1946 »
Rue de Morgue: www.suicidegirls.com

Offline Wtm

• Confirmed
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 03:17:44 PM »
As far as the heavy loads I weigh about 180 no hills, live in Florida.  I have the standard controller sent with the motot kit.  I was going as fast as it would go.  When charging all the lights lit up like it was charging right, but will get a volt meter.

Thanks WTM

Offline JonMcClain

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2008, 04:56:29 PM »