Author Topic: Throttle error on Smart Pie 4 (VECTOR)  (Read 4373 times)

Offline Bike noobie

• Confirmed
Throttle error on Smart Pie 4 (VECTOR)
« on: March 19, 2015, 08:01:17 PM »
hello, ive recently received a Smart Pie 4 (rear wheel) as a gift to replace an older golden motor I had and I have the optional display and it always reads as error 2 (throttle) the throttle has a 48 volt sticker on the side and I am currently using a 36 volt battery is this the cause  ? does the 48 volt sticker mean it works upto 48 volt batteries or only on 48 volt? because I assumed the battery could be changed to either 24/36/48 and ive read about people swapping there batteries out and so keep the controller at 24 volts to ensure it works with any battery. would it be better if I asked for a motor with a a 24/36 volt sticker on the throttle ? or is it just a faulty motor and I should try to get it exchanged?

sorry all the questions are so similar im not very good with electronics and this is the only thing I think it could be.

thanks for your time.

p.s I still have my old throttle a twist one could I replace the new thumb throttle to solve this issue ?

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Throttle error on Smart Pie 4 (VECTOR)
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2015, 11:28:43 PM »
Hi andto the forum.

Although the fault code suggests that the throttle itself is faulty, it could also be a broken/poor connection inside the main front harness or even the motor harness which could cause the same error code.

The voltage stated on the throttle unit only affects the operation of the LED battery gauge, so the throttle should still work in all other aspects.

I won't recommend trying the old throttle just in case the internal wiring is different, but if the connector plug is identical it may well work.

It is probably best to contact the supplier of your kit and explain the problem to them before you do anything else.

Alan

Offline Bike noobie

• Confirmed