Author Topic: My new 700c wheel has a become a fixed wheel?  (Read 7065 times)

Offline fbvisitor

My new 700c wheel has a become a fixed wheel?
« on: October 18, 2008, 12:10:08 PM »
G'day all,

Can someone help the newbie here?

My new 48v 1000w Goldenmotor kit (ebay of course) finally arrived and although very pushed for time for a couple of days I thought I might at least be able to pop the (rear) wheel in tonight and see how it all looks.

I tightened the cassette as per instructions, tied the wiring out of the way temporarily, pumped up the tyre and took it for a 30 metre ride bafore things started going pear shaped.

First of all I over geared it in the dark, (my fault). New scratches on new hub. Bugger.

Secondly, and this is where I need pointing in the right direction, when I pushed on the pedals I felt the cassette turn a little bit. No problems I thought, its just tightening up that last little bit but now the cassette is locked and acting like a fixed wheel (I have to keep pedalling or else the chain is going to keep going around with the wheel and do who knows what damage).

What have I done wrong? I'm beat after a hard days grind and my brain is obviously not functioning properly.

Can someone help the Aussie?

Offline Leslie

• Confirmed
  • PhD. Magic
Re: My new 700c wheel has a become a fixed wheel?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 01:02:12 PM »
You have two choices.

Send the wheel back.

Or

Go to the bike shop and get yourself 3 cassete spacer washers and undo the cassete and put those washers in between the cassete and the hub.

Should be like new.

Bring it on

Offline biohazardman

• Confirmed
  • Bachelor of Magic
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2008, 05:20:33 PM »
G'day all,

Can someone help the newbie here?

My new 48v 1000w Goldenmotor kit (ebay of course) finally arrived and although very pushed for time for a couple of days I thought I might at least be able to pop the (rear) wheel in tonight and see how it all looks.