Author Topic: Miles per gallon equivalent  (Read 8769 times)

Offline longsundayrun

• Confirmed
Miles per gallon equivalent
« on: April 30, 2013, 10:26:37 PM »
Hi y'all....I'm a teacher in Rhode Island.....and my students and I have built a small Electric Vehicle with a Magic Pie III....we tested it this past Sunday on the track...we ran it for 17 miles and only used 3.6 volts (started with 39) ... performed outstanding to me...I expected it to run down to 24 volts...does anyone have any insight in how to calculate miles per gallon equivalent ??....any comments !!!....I would appreciate it !!!..thanks !!...Ed Fernandes, Tiverton High School, Tiverton, RI
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 01:20:57 AM by longsundayrun »

Offline Morgen 3Eman

• Confirmed
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Miles per gallon equivalent
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 04:34:26 AM »
Hi Ed,

Is that made from PVC pipe?  What does it weigh?  Could we have a closeup of the steering?   It looks like a pretty cool way to interest kids in engineering careers.

I have no answers for your questions, but I'm sure that Alan will be able to help.  He is pretty much the genius in residence here..... Welcome aboard.

TTFN,
Dennis

Offline longsundayrun

• Confirmed
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 08:57:22 AM »
Hi Dennis....yes, it's 1" PVC pipe....bought the plans from Dan Fleishman in Florida....Americanspeedster.com....it weights about 110 pounds....a great school project for my engineering kids....it uses an old kingpin design for the front end with aluminum tie rods...here's a pic...

Offline longsundayrun

• Confirmed
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2013, 09:03:07 AM »
Dennis....here's a you tube link that briefly shows us testing it on our track
Ed

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=egZYDnjBLNo

Offline sixty_cycle_hum

• Confirmed
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2013, 03:56:05 AM »
Cool project and great question.  I was curious about this earlier today and figured it out.