Author Topic: Motor won't run in reverse  (Read 2338 times)

Offline Akhlut

• Confirmed
Motor won't run in reverse
« on: April 22, 2022, 10:00:35 AM »
Hi guys, new to posting here. I hope someone can help.

I purchase a 10kw liquid cooled motor, vector 500 controller and the joystick throttle with fwd/rev from Golden Motors to do an electric conversion in my sailboat.

Here are my problems.

Initially, when I hooked everthing up to bench test it, I got a code 5 error. I have since fixed that. I put in a tech ticket for it, but ended up fixing it myself. I haven't gotten much from tech support except "can you send us pictures, can you send us video".

Now my problem is that the motor will only run in forward. Atleast when I push the throttle forward it moves. When I pull it back for reverse there is no response.
Am I missing something. I build motor control panels for a living so I know my way around stuff. But this has me stumped.

Next question.
  So, when the motor has no power supplied to it, it shouldn't turn. At least not easily. Then once power is on, from what I'm told, the motor should be able to free spin. Is this correct?

My motor, with no power on, is hard to turn. Like a stepper motor. After turning the power on the motor is still the same.
How is this suppoed to work with regen? I can barely turn it by hand. In the program I turned on the regen. Actually enabled everything in the program, and I still have the same results. Motor won't free spin and no reverse.

OH, and what is the 3 position turn switch on the throttle for. It doesnt seem to do anything.

Thank guys in advance. I hope someone can help and fairly quickly. My boat splashes in 3 weekends and I'd love to have the motor in and running properly.

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Motor won't run in reverse
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2022, 03:56:38 PM »
Hi Akhlut andto the forum.