Author Topic: WHEELCHAIR SUITABLE gearless brushless hub motors - HELP  (Read 7571 times)

Offline coolmobility

WHEELCHAIR SUITABLE gearless brushless hub motors - HELP
« on: February 28, 2008, 06:09:17 AM »
Hi guys, I'm an Australian wheelchair designer (and user for 30 years since a hang gliding accident in 1977) and have only yesterday found this very informative forum. Spent hours reading all your input and would appreciate your experience and input.

I have designed a light weight power wheelchair where the third prototype uses a 24V 19Ah NiMH battery pack using Cobasys batteries. Looking at developing a production prototype using C-LiFePO4 pack of about 24V 29Ah. On the battery side I'm confident, especially after reding all your stuff.

Motors are my major problem and you'll see on my website http://www.coolmobility.com.au/WheelchairP3Video.htm that I used hub motors on my last prototype. These were prototypes developed by Georgia Tech using rare earth magnets but have a wek point of the internal gearing. I'd like to use gearless brushless hub motors and have been researching such hub motors for quite a while.

I'd appreciate any input as to potentially the best motors where torque is primary (especially from dead stop at slow speed) up to a speed (using 16" wheels) of about 16 kph (10 mph). Am I being unrealistic in hoping to find a basic hub motor that I can then have modified to meet my single sided axle requirements - note that I'll be using two hub motors?

Your input would be invaluable and I realise that I may have to move away from conventional 24V proportional controllers to a custom built 36V system to realise my needs from the two hub motors. Before I start buying sample motors to test on a trike arrangement on my wheechair initially, I'd appreciate input from this forum's members with all your experience in real use of a variety of these motors.