Author Topic: Question regarding VEC500 throttle input  (Read 4348 times)

Offline Alexpioner

• Confirmed
Question regarding VEC500 throttle input
« on: March 15, 2020, 01:57:50 PM »
Hello, Alan.

My name is Alex. I'm a HW engineer. We are developing some controller, which should control VEC500.
I have some questions regarding throttle input. After reading some posts here, I understand, that the throttling is controlling by the potentiometer connected between GND and 5V:
1) What should be the value of potentiometer and also its maximum power dissipation?
2) Can I control the throttling input from DAC rather than by potentiometer? What is the input resistance of throttle input? (what is the expected source current into this input?)

Sincerely
Alex

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Question regarding VEC500 throttle input
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2020, 01:00:51 AM »
Hi Alex andto the forum,

The GM throttles use a Hall sensor instead of a potentiometer but the VEC500 controller allows either type to be selected.

The Honeywell SS49E Hall sensor is often used as a replacement for the original throttle Hall sensors, so feel free to look up the spec on these.

If you want to use a potentiometer, a 10,000 Ohm (10k) should work fine, and the power dissipation should be less than 5mW (0.005W).

The throttle signal is basically a variable voltage which is used to control the motor speed.
The throttle signal voltage is typically around 0.8~1V with the throttle released and the motor typically begins to run at ~1.25v and maximum motor speed is usually achieved with a signal voltage of around 3.25V.

The following graph is based on empirical data collected during several tests on a Magic Pie hubmotor:

I suspect that the active throttle signal voltage range will be very similar on the VEC-500 controller, but the rpm range is likely to be a lot higher.  ::)