Author Topic: Minimum Voltage for 52 volt battery before recharge  (Read 8620 times)

Offline diverdon

• Confirmed
  • Bachelor of Magic
Minimum Voltage for 52 volt battery before recharge
« on: January 15, 2021, 06:23:23 AM »

Hello .. I am new to the battery life game and am recharging the battery to full charge to balance it for the first few charges then I will go to charging to %80 ..

Question is how low do you get a battery before you recharge it .. I have been recharging at 49.5 volts %35 .. I only use and average of %7 per trip so I'm thinking I could go for another ride or 2 before charging ... What's the lowest voltage to let your 52 volt battery get to before recharging ? I have a chart that shows 46.3 volts or %10 as the lowest it should go .. That seems low to me .. Maybe %20 or %25 for recharging ?

Any help will be really appreciated .. Retired auto mechanic but this battery tech is new to me 

Offline Tommycat

• Confirmed
  • Bachelor of Magic
Re: Minimum Voltage for 52 volt battery before recharge
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2021, 02:53:29 PM »
I use my battery very similarly to you.

To be accurate, my battery is a 52 volt nominal, Lithium Ion, PA cell battery. Rated at 11.5 AH. And every thing stated below will relate to Li-Ion chemistry.

This is the chart that I use for battery charge/voltage comparison...

It seems to go along with recommended voltages per cell at different percentages of charge.

IE: 100% = 4.2 volts per cell X 14 cells in series for a 52 volt nominal battery = 58.8 volts DC.
       50% = 3.6 volts............................................................................... = 50.4 volts DC.
         0% = 3 volts................................................................................. =  42 volts DC.

That said, my recommendations are as follows for longest battery life.