Author Topic: Golden motor performance issues  (Read 5095 times)

Offline magicaffair

• Confirmed
Golden motor performance issues
« on: August 29, 2012, 10:31:13 PM »
Hi all,
I've just bought a bike with a 1000w Magic Pie kit built on, and a 48v 12ah golden motor battery pack. It has had a golden motor external controller fitted after the internal one stopped working after a harsh winter. Upon riding it, the battery lost power quickly and the bike juddered terribly when going up hills. I presumed it didn't have much charge. I have placed on charge now to see two red lights on the charger (even though it says red/yellow means charging?? the fan is kicking in on charger, and everyone on here seems to think this is what should be happening (2 red lights) so I will leave it for a bit, is this normal?) 

The new external controller is set to factory spec and not very fast (18mph unassisted) where can I get a cable to programme the controller? Is it easy? Sorry to ask so much I'm a newbie with Magic Pie and it's a minefield of info out there... this site seems to have straight talkers :-)

Offline atcspaul

• Confirmed
  • Magic Undergrad
    • motor bicycling
Re: Golden motor performance issues
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 12:07:33 AM »
i thought mine was messed up to. however 2 red lights is what it does, if battery really low it will take about 4.5 hours to charge and the fan will turn off and you will have one red light and one green light saying charged and ready to go

Offline magicaffair

• Confirmed
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 05:45:12 PM »