Author Topic: 5kW Electric Go Kart With VEC300  (Read 3723 times)

Offline Reichen.Schaller

• Confirmed
5kW Electric Go Kart With VEC300
« on: September 28, 2021, 09:46:59 PM »
   Before starting off I want to one, introduce myself, and two, say that I tried making a new topic on my issue before but the website seemed to have an issue and I can’t seem to tell whether or not it was published. I tried checking my profile to see if it showed it or general discussion but it showed up in neither so I am going to attempt to re-post it.

My name is Reichen Schaller and I am currently a high school student. I am building a 72-Volt 5 KW electric go-kart. I am using golden motor’s VEC300 and their 5kw water-cooled BLDC motor.

My Equipment
1. VEC300
2. 6 6s 6000 mah Lipo Batteries
3. 5kw Golden Motor Water Cooled Motor
4. A random amazon thumb throttle (https://www.amazon.com/Ebike-Throttle-Scotter-Eletrric-Accessories/dp/B08S3SNWCG/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=Ebike+Throttle+EZKT&qid=1632861451&sr=8-5)
5. Golden Motor’s official programming cable

My Issue
After connecting the motor and throttle, plugging in the cable, programming it, and disconnecting it. (All with the power on) Nothing happens when I turn the throttle

What I Know
1. My fuse isn’t blown
2. My controller terminals are getting the batteries full voltage
3. My e-lock is connected
4. I wrote the programming software to the controller (I pressed the button, not sure if you have to do more)

What I Want to Know
How do I tell if my throttle works
Is my controller programmed correctly
Do all the plugs on the controller need to be connected for it to run (electric brake, cruise
control, etc)

Important to Note
1. Whenever the controller is connected to my computer via the cable, even if nothing is plugged in, the red light flashes to indicate a motor over-current protection issue
2. My computer is using the newest PI-800 software
3. I am using windows 10