Author Topic: Very low power available when throttle is initially applied  (Read 2303 times)

Offline R2pittman

• Confirmed
Very low power available when throttle is initially applied
« on: April 25, 2023, 08:25:15 PM »
Hello my name is Ronnie Pittman and I am an engineering teacher.  My students are building a solar car and we are using the HPM3000 3kW motor with the VEC200 controller.  The problem we are having is that when taking off we are only getting 2A of current before the motor kicks out.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Ronnie
« Last Edit: April 26, 2023, 09:28:47 AM by Bikemad »

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Very low power available when throttle is initially applied
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2023, 10:52:01 AM »
Hi Ronnie andto the forum.

Is the controller emitting 4 regular flashes/beeps indicating that the Stall Protection has been triggered?

If your gearing is relatively high, try increasing the stall protection time (s) and/or the Starting phase current (A) using the PI-400/VEC programming lead and PI-800 programming software to see if it helps.

Are you able to save the parameters to a file and then attach the saved *.foc file so that I can see what the all of the current settings are?

It might also be helpful to know the following:
  • The battery type, capacity, continuous current output and voltage etc.
  • The outer tyre diameter (or distance from ground surface to centre of the wheel)
  • The total gear reduction ratio (pulley diameters, number of teeth on sprockets or gears etc.)
  • Approximate weight of the vehicle with occupants
  • The expected top speed
  • The maximum gradient it must be able to climb

Alan

Offline R2pittman

• Confirmed
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2023, 11:36:21 AM »