Author Topic: Controller Heat and Fuse change  (Read 8669 times)

Offline erdurbin

• Confirmed
  • Magic Undergrad
    • not so Common sense
Controller Heat and Fuse change
« on: July 05, 2007, 07:18:25 PM »
What would be a safe temperature for the controller? I rode mine yesterday for about 15 minutes and when I got back to the house, it was very hot to the touch. I had it in a Craftsman tool bag on top of the batteries. It was zipped up to conceal everything and I do not think it was getting enough air. If it will get hot no matter what, I will just leave it in the bag, but if not, I want to get it out in the open so it can have airflow.

On another note, I too blew my fuse that came with the kit on my first ride attempt. I bought an inline blade fuse holder from Radio Shack and got a package of 30 amp fuses. The wire is 10 awg and more durable than the wire on the original power leads. I work in IT and know the guys at my local Batteries Plus. They gave me some extra battery connectors that UPS's use. I connected all 3 of my 12ah batteries no problem with these, no solder. This is a great idea for anyone that doesn't want to solder. I placed them in a nylon craftsman tool bag from Sears and they fit perfect. It has a zipper top and handles so I can take the whole bag into work for charging. I will try and get some pictures posted soon.

Offline myelectricbike

• PhD. Magic
    • How to Build an Electric Bike
Re: Controller Heat and Fuse change
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2007, 10:50:30 PM »