Author Topic: I want more speed using 20'' wheels  (Read 6818 times)

Offline luisgouveia

• Confirmed
I want more speed using 20'' wheels
« on: June 14, 2010, 04:17:30 PM »
Hello guys,

I think that only Golden Motor staff will be able to help me in this particular issue.

I set up the maximum settings (250W motor):

Peak current: 50A
Continuous current: 30A
Speed: 100%

With these settings I can only get 19 Kmh (12Mph) using 20'' wheels.

My bike has great torque with these settings. The problem is the top speed. I feel that the motor has more speed to give but the controller can't go harder in frequency.

I am an electronic engineer and I guess this can be fixed by software. I'm writing this mail in order to advice you to prepare the next configuration program to 20'' wheel bikes.

I have no doubt that putting this hub in a 26'' bike would give me a 30Km/h (20Mph) top speed.

PS: Anybody in here riding 20'' bikes? Thank you for replying.

Thanks,
Luís Gouveia

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: More speed using 20'' wheels
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 06:48:27 PM »
I set up the maximum settings (250W motor):

Peak current: 50A
Continuous current: 30A
Speed: 100%

With these settings I can only get 19 Kmh (12Mph) using 20'' wheels.

My bike has great torque with these settings. The problem is the top speed. I feel that the motor has more speed to give but the controller can't go harder in frequency.

I am an electronic engineer and I guess this can be fixed by software.

I have no doubt that putting this hub in a 26'' bike would give me a 30Km/h (20Mph) top speed.

Luís,

The speed you are getting would seem to be about right for the power available from the 36V minimotor in a 20" wheel running at 24V. This motor will only produce more than 107 Watts of power if the motor is loaded to 207rpm or less (approx. 19km/h or 12mph for a 20" wheel). See performance figures.