Author Topic: hi  (Read 7460 times)

Offline ManOnTheMoon

hi
« on: December 10, 2010, 09:58:09 AM »
Dear all,

I am new to this forum and happened to stumble on it while looking for a good bike electric conversion kit. Since I am a noob at these things, I took some time to have read more about GM and am very happy with the specs and quality they provide..

My requirements are that I would like to have a bike that I can switch on the motor whenever I feel like..So, in my case, I do not want the pedelec function (since it involves pedalling to start the motor). I intend to use the bike to go to work, which takes me normally about 15 min by car. Also, the areas are quite hilly(not so steep but it's going to be tiring as I am not in my best physical form).

I weigh about 90 kg and I hope that I can ride an average of 35-40 km/hr with the kit. It doesnt have to be that speed uphill :)

The bad thing is that I am located in Asia and they have some rules against these kind of bikes. The ones that are legal are damn ugly and go only up to about 25km/hr which is ridiculous. Am sure I can cycle at that speed on flat ground.

1) So, I am going to get myself a mountain bike and fit this GM kit in it..Budget is an issue and so, I have to minimize my spendings while meeting my requirements..

2) I intended to get an electric kit, without the wheel to minimize any suspicions from the customs..That is, get only the controllers,motors,and accessories that are needed.. Do you think it's a good idea to do that and set up the wheel myself based on the motor?

3) being a noob at bicycle stuff(but am sure I can learn), do you think it's a good idea for me to get a front motor instead rather than the rear one?

4) also based on my requirements and budget limitations, do you recommend a 48V 1000W motor? or 36V 750W is sufficient?

all advice and comments are most welcome and I would be very happy to learn the stuff

thanks for reading

cheers

Offline Hardcore

• Confirmed