Author Topic: Battery Management System  (Read 4273 times)

Offline Tbnrider

• Confirmed
Battery Management System
« on: February 24, 2017, 06:43:10 PM »
I have a 36 Volt 12AH battery with a built-in BMS.
I assume the BMS performs two main functions; cuts off battery supply when overall voltage is low, and balances the 12 cells in the battery. 
Does it have any other functions?

I would like to know more about the balancing function. For balancing cells, the cell balancers I have some experience with operate by measuring the voltage of each cell, selecting the lowest voltage cell, and imposing a load on each cell with a voltage higher than that until all the cells fall in voltage down to the level of the lowest cell.  This can be done while the cells are being charged or at any time after.

Is this the way the BMS balancer works?  Or does it somehow manage the charging current of each cell during charge, or divert some charge from one cell to another when there is no charging taking place? And does the balancing function work only while the cells are being charged, or is it operative at all times?  (I don't see any way of shutting off the BMS circuit after a charger has been disconnected!)

Is there a circuit diagram available for this BMS?

Roy

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Battery Management System
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 12:11:53 AM »
Hi Roy,

The BMS monitors each of the cells individually and ensures that none of the cells are overcharged too high, or discharged too low.
It also protects the cells from being overloaded by excessive current demand by continually monitoring the current being drawn. If the maximum safe current setting is exceeded, the BMS automatically disconnects the load from the battery to prevent cell damage. Some more expensive BMS units will regulate the current load on the battery instead of completely disconnecting the load.