Author Topic: Throttle rewiring instructions are not clear  (Read 1951 times)

Offline Jmonahan

• Confirmed
Throttle rewiring instructions are not clear
« on: September 05, 2023, 12:25:49 AM »
Im converting an ATV to electric. Im new to this but ordered the 10kW kit to make it go. Unfortunately the throttle comes with a plug that doesnt fit the connector from the controller. Yes, there is a video that sorta explains how to re-wire this, but it does not explain what to do if you have a contactor in the mix. The video explains that we can just wire red to red, green to green and white to white.
Except there is no white wire coming from the controller. There is a white and black wire, but no indication which one to use.

the other problem is that the wiring diagram is not at all clear how to wire the Power wire from the controller to the key or the contactor. The video explains we should stick a wire in the plug to make that connection (and this should not be something the customer has to do), but it says nothing about how to connect the wire that branches off the power wire to the contactor. This branching wire ends in a terminal loop that does not fit on the large contactor post, so I naturally put it on the small post, which it is too big for!
After moving this wire back and forth, and moving the black and white wires back and forth, and readjusting the copper wires I stuck in the key plug, I finally got a "beep" from the motor. One single beep, then a series of more rapid beeps. But no throttle.
So more moving wires and checking connections and I got a single beep, but no throttle working.