Author Topic: Magic Pie 4 vector not working after ball bearing replacement  (Read 1839 times)

Offline Tawapah

• Confirmed
Magic Pie 4 vector not working after ball bearing replacement
« on: October 18, 2022, 07:02:06 PM »
I’ve been very happy using a front wheel Magic Pie 4 vector for about 8 years before it began to make a lot of noise. I quickly determined that it had to be the ball bearings. That was correct and therefore I got a new replacement.

After assembling everything again with the new ball bearing it didn’t want to turn anymore when throttling and only makes a light single "click" sound every time I turn the throttle up.

I opened the cover again to see if I would notice anything and sadly I maybe think it could be a damaged coil shorting. But since I’m no expert on the subject, I’m now writing here to hear your opinion on this. I have attached two photos showing 3 sections of the coil which I think could be shorting that looks like grey/white marks.

I should properly have disassembled/assembled it myself on my carpet floor at home instead of going to the local metal workshop of where it was handled on a metal table (which I believe could be the reason the coil was damaged, scraping on that table).

Can someone here help me clarify if the coil is too damaged and if its the reason it cannot run anymore?

I still hope there is a chance for a simple fix (maybe the Hall sensors), but since I saw the state of the coil I’m doubtful.

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Magic Pie 4 vector not working after ball bearing replacement
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2022, 11:37:49 PM »
Hi Tawapah,

After carefully studying your photos, I don't think that the scraped insulation on those windings is severe enough to be causing a problem, as none of the exposed sections of the copper windings appear to be touching against other exposed sections.