Author Topic: Understanding Magic Pie Throttle  (Read 4708 times)

Offline Albike

• Confirmed
Understanding Magic Pie Throttle
« on: July 30, 2019, 02:13:12 PM »
I am new to electric bikes, and recently I bought a used one. So far I know from (gasoline powered) motorcycles that the throttle controls the energy supply to the engine. But it seems this is different on an e-bike. Can it be that the throttle setting tells the motor what speed I want, and then the Magic in the controller allocates the according Amperes?

Sorry if this question sounds stupid.

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Re: Understanding Magic Pie Throttle
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2019, 03:35:04 PM »
Hi andto the forum.

The throttle signal output voltage basically controls the speed of the motor (rpm).
The motor starts to turn with a throttle signal voltage of ~1.25V and full throttle is reached at ~3.25V as shown below:

If you apply full throttle at low rpm, the motor will draw high current, which will automatically reduce as the motor rpm increases until the rpm matches the expected rpm for the throttle output voltage, or maximum achievable road speed for the power being produced is reached.

The maximum achievable speed at full throttle is dependant upon many factors including the following:
  • battery voltage
  • available current
  • the total combined weight (bike, motor, battery, luggage and rider etc.)
  • grade/incline
  • road surface
  • tyre type (and pressure)
  • windspeed (headwind, sidewind or tailwind)
  • aerodynamic resistance (drag coefficient)
  • frictional losses (rolling friction coefficient)

I would say that an ebike's throttle works pretty much like a gasoline powered bike's throttle, the more throttle you apply, the greater the power output from the motor, causing quicker acceleration and a faster top speed.  ;)

Alan

EDIT:
Revised throttle graph added
« Last Edit: July 30, 2019, 04:28:30 PM by Bikemad »

Offline Albike

• Confirmed