Author Topic: Looking for information on the Magic Pie edge cassette version of the DD motor  (Read 4789 times)

Offline Pbert

• Confirmed
Hi,

I am new to the ebike scene and have been reading for a couple months now.  I've narrowed down the candidate for my first build to be the Magic Pie edge rear motor but there is one piece of information that I am missing before going ahead.  I've been looking for people who have ordered the edge with the cassette in the rear in order to install up to 10 gears.  Was wondering how their experience was.  Also if anyone has ordered through the goldenmotor.ca site to let me know how they managed to specify the freehub version of the kit instead of the freewheel version because I did not find any options to specify this.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2016, 11:34:58 AM by spellchecker »

Offline Bikemad

• Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • PhD. Magic
Hi Pbert andto the forum.

I received a pre-production cassette version of the Magic Pie Edge back in September 2015 and I was very concerned about the small amount of surface area available on the freewheel end of the axle where it pressed against the torque washer:

After dismantling the freehub unit, I discovered there was no internal spacer between the inner tracks of the two bearings in the centre of the freehub unit, so simply adding an additional spacer between the freehub outer bearing and the axle washer to withstand the compression load of the fully tightened axle nut was not possible.
I therefore suggested that the axles could be modified to allow a nut to be threaded further onto the axle and further inside the freehub locking nut to maintain the correct axle width to suit the standard 135mm wide rear dropout:

However, I believe that the axle was not actually modified, but an extra inner nut was simply added to the existing axle to withstand the compression force of the outer axle nut.