Author Topic: Wheel difficult to turn  (Read 6664 times)

Offline jan-norway

• Confirmed
  • I have a Prokit 901
Wheel difficult to turn
« on: May 03, 2012, 10:47:06 AM »
Hi everyone,

My name is Jan and I currently live in Oslo. I recently decided that I need an ebike and figurred that it would be a good idea to build one myself. As I have little knowledge of bicykles I've run into a problem early on, and I'm hoping to get some help here.

My bike details:
Taifun delta trekking bike,
700C wheel size,
13,5 cm room between rear forks (sems to be able force them to ca 15,5),
Rim brakes,
quick release wheels,
Not aluminium frame (just tested with a magnet).

I recently received from Golden Motor in China:
Prokit 901 500W for 700C rear wheel, 6 speed casette,
LT36V12AH battery, twist throttle, cruise control, and controller, rak 001.   

My question is regarding installation of the motorized rear wheel. There seems to be so much friction an rolling resistance that I guess something has to be wrong with the way I try to mount it it.  The wheel came with, for either side, a disc brake tube (metal sylinder), one washer with a tap, one washer without a tap and a bolt

Offline jan-norway

• Confirmed
  • I have a Prokit 901
Re: Wheel difficult to turn
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 11:13:00 AM »
(Continuing - sorry for splitting)

As I don't have disc brakes on my bike I'm not sure what to do with those disc brake tubes. Should they just be be put on first on both sides and get a washer next to them?  Wont they make alot of friction? Should I have specifically orderred a kit for a bike without disc brakes?

On the right side the db-tube will be about 1 mm outside of the sped casette, and I then need two washers to get clearance between the frame and the speed casette. On the left side the db-tube, washers and bolt was already fitted on the motor cable leaving no choice. (I guess I should post pictures, can do later)